Skip to content
English
  • There are no suggestions because the search field is empty.

Synchronize Your Projects Between Two Devices

Work on your projects from two different devices.

With magicplan, you can create and edit projects in the app on two mobile or tablet devices, and you can also edit projects in the magicplan cloud on your laptop or desktop computer. This means, for example, that if you create a project on your iPhone and wish to resume editing on the larger interface of your iPad instead, you can easily do so. Similarly, if you plan to create a project on your mobile device but wish to edit from the cloud using our desktop editor, syncing your projects first is a critical step.

Learn more below about how your projects sync between two devices and best practices, so you are always working on the most updated version of a project. 

⚠️ Caution: If you are scanning or creating your project offline or in Airplane Mode, changes made to your project will not be synced until your mobile device is connected to the internet or cellular data. Do not exit your project and return to the main menu until you have established a stable network connection.

Sync a Project Between Devices

magicplan features automatic syncing between your mobile device and the cloud. The cloud is the hub where backups of your projects are saved, allowing you to access them on another device or from any web browser. Once you create a project on your mobile device and exit that project, every part of the project you just created will be automatically synced to the cloud.

To work on a project from two devices, follow these steps:

  1. Create your project on Device 1.
  2. When you are at a stopping point, exit the project. Our automatic sync will ensure that updates to your project are uploaded to the Cloud once the project is closed, as long as your device has a stable internet or data connection. 
  3. Open the magicplan app on Device 2.
  4. Swipe down on your home screen on Device 2 to automatically refresh your app and sync any updates from the Cloud.
  5. Proceed to opening your project on Device 2.
  6. If you want to switch back to Device 1, simply repeat the same steps. 

Best Practices for Syncing Your Projects

Forming these work habits while using magicplan will help to ensure that you're always accessing the most up-to-date version of your project. 

  • After making changes to a project, make sure you are able to connect to the internet or data to ensure updates are synced to the cloud. Ensure this connection prior to exiting your project.
  • If you do not have a stable connection, or are working offline, do not exit the project and return to the home page until you have re-entered service or re-established a network connection.
  • Before opening an existing project on a second device, always refresh your app's home screen.
  • When you open a project, check for any messages regarding recent Workspace updates.
  • Before assigning or re-assigning a project to a different Workspace member, always ensure that the most up to date version is synced from the current assignee's mobile device.
  • Work from one device at a time and complete work on that device before switching to a different device.
  • It is not advisable to edit the same project from two devices simultaneously.

ℹ️ Note: When syncing projects, it is important that you are always in the correct workspace!